If you set your privacy to nobody and someone saves your phone number, to them it will appear that you do not have a signal account, even if they start chatting with you via your handle.
If you set your privacy to nobody and someone saves your phone number, to them it will appear that you do not have a signal account, even if they start chatting with you via your handle.